Bhutan and India sign another hydropower agreement; Tshering Tobgay elected as the new PDP President; Chief Justice Tobgye: Fifteen sub-districts to separate courts; Exiled Bhutanese oppose ‘one nation, one people’ policy
  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Email
  • Whatsapp
  • Linkedin
  • Bhutan and India signed another hydro-power agreement, which will help ensure a 15 percent increase in the country’s production capacity by 2020, by up to 11,576 MW, instead of the earlier target of 10,000 MW which was fixed in 20081.

    In domestic developments, Tshering Tobgay was elected as the new People’s Democratic Party (PDP) president, in the aftermath of the resignation of Sangay Ngedup. Ngedup took responsibility for the failure of the PDP in the 2008 elections2.

    Chief Justice Lyonpo Sonam Tobgye stated that fifteen sub-districts would now be having separate courts. Tobgye added that the move marked “a major step in ensuring a vibrant and independent judiciary3.”

    In other developments, exiled Bhutanese organised a protest in front of the Asian Arts Museum in San Francisco to oppose the ‘One Nation, One People’ policy of Bhutanese government4. The demonstrators highlighted alleged contradictions in the Bhutanese democratic transition.