You are here

Fourth MEA-IISS-IDSA Foreign Policy Dialogue’ on the theme 'Towards Stability in Asia'

  • Share
  • Tweet
  • Email
  • Whatsapp
  • Linkedin
  • Print
  • November 21, 2011

    Venue: IDSA Auditorium

    Press Release


    09:40-10:00 hrs: Arrival of Participants; Tea/Coffee served

    Inaugural Session
    10:00-10:10 hrs: Welcome Remarks by Director General, IDSA
    10:10-10:40 hrs: Keynote Address by Foreign Secretary Mr. Ranjan Mathai
    10:40-11:10 hrs: Discussion

    11:10-11.30 hrs: Tea/Coffee Break

    11:30-13:00 hrs: Session 1: Asymmetric Warfare and International Security
    Chair: Dr. Arvind Gupta, Lal Bahadur Shastri Chair, IDSA
    IISS Speaker: Mr. Nigel Inkster, IISS Director of Transnational Threats & Political Risk
    Indian Speaker: Dr. S. Kalyanaraman, Research Fellow, IDSA

    13:00-14:00 hrs: Working Lunch

    14:00-15:30 hrs: Session 2: Towards Stability in Pakistan & Afghanistan?
    Chair: Amb. Yash Sinha, Joint Secretary (Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran), MEA
    Indian Speaker: Dr. Ashok Behuria, Research Fellow, IDSA
    IISS Speaker: Brig. (Retd.) Ben Barry, IISS Senior Fellow for Land Warfare

    15:30-16:00 hrs: Tea/Coffee Break

    16:00-17:30 hrs: Session 3: Engaging a Rising China
    Chair: Mr. Gautam Bambawale, Joint Secretary (East Asia), MEA
    IISS Speaker: Mr. Adam Ward, IISS Director of Studies
    Indian Speaker: Dr. C. Raja Mohan, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research

    17:30-17:45 hrs: Concluding Remarks
    by Amb. Pinak Chakravarty, Special Secretary (Public Diplomacy), MEA
    by Mr. Rahul Roy-Chaudhury, IISS Senior Fellow for South Asia

    Rapporteur Report