



12th South Asia Conference on India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy: Regional Perceptions

Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses (IDSA)

Venue: Auditorium, IDSA 28-29 January 2020

CONFERENCE PROGRAMME

DAY 1: Tuesday, 28 January 2020

09.15 AM-9.45 AM REGISTRATION

09.45 AM-10.15 AM INAUGURAL SESSION

Welcome Address: Ambassador Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, IDSA

Inaugural Address: Shri Rajnath Singh, Hon'ble Raksha Mantri, Government of India &

President, IDSA

Vote of Thanks: Vice Admiral Shekhar Sinha (Retd.), Member, Executive Council, IDSA

10.15 AM-10.45 AM Tea/Coffee Break

10.45 AM-01.00 PM SESSION I: CONCEPTUAL FRAMEWORK OF INDIA'S "NEIGHBOURHOOD

FIRST" POLICY

Chairperson: Ambassador Sujan R. Chinoy (Director General, IDSA)

Speakers: Ambassador Kanwal Sibal (Former Foreign Secretary, Government of India):

Conceptual Framework of India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy

Ambassador Abdul Ghafoor Mohamed (Foreign Secretary, Government of the Maldives): *Maldivian Perspective on India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy*

Major General Vetsop Namgyel (Ambassador of Bhutan to India): Bhutan's

Perception on India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy

Ambassador Munshi Faiz Ahmad (Former Chairman, Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies, Dhaka): *India's "Neighbourhood First"*

Policy: Perspective from Bangladesh

Dr. Shaida Mohammad Abdali (Former Afghan Ambassador to India):

Afghanistan's Perspective on India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy

02.00 PM-04.00 PM SESSION II: ECONOMIC AND DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION

Chairperson: Dr. Sanjaya Baru (Former Media Advisor to Prime Minister, Currently,

Distinguished Fellow, IDSA)

Speakers: Professor Sachin Chaturvedi (Director General, Research and Information

System for Developing Countries, New Delhi): India's Development

Cooperation with its Neighbouring Countries

Professor Bishwambher Pyakuryal (Chairman, Institute for Strategic and Socio-Economic Research, Kathmandu): *Emerging Trends in*

India-Nepal Development Cooperation

Ambassador Sudhir Vyas (Former Secretary, Government of India, Former Ambassador to Bhutan): "Neighbourhood First": Economic and Development

Cooperation with Bhutan

Dr. Ganeshan Wignaraja (Executive Director, Lakshman Kadirgamar Institute of International Relations and Strategic Studies, Colombo): India's "Neighbourhood First" Policy and Sri Lanka: Towards 'Win-Win' in a Region of

Great Power Competition

Mr. Nazir Kabiri (Executive Director, Biruni Institute, Kabul): India's Model of Development Cooperation based on the Principles of South-South Cooperation

and Afghanistan's Perception as a Recipient/Partner Country

04.00 PM-04.15 PM Tea/Coffee Break

04.15 PM-06.00 PM SESSION III: CONNECTIVITY INITIATIVES AND INFRASTRUCTURE DEVELOPMENT

Chairperson: Ambassador Leela K. Ponappa (Former Deputy National Security Advisor,

Government of India)

Speakers: Professor Prabir De (Coordinator, ASEAN-India Centre, Research and

Information System for Developing Countries, New Delhi): What Role Should

Connectivity Play in Reenergising South Asia?

Professor Delwar Hossain (Department of International Relations, University of Dhaka): Bangladesh-India Relations and the Politics of Connectivity: A New

Bilateralism?

Mr. U. Khin Maung Lynn (Joint Secretary-1, Myanmar Institute of Strategic and International Studies, Yangon): *Myanmar's Perspective on India's*

"Neighbourhood First" Policy

Ambassador Pinak Ranjan Chakravarty (Former High Commissioner to Bangladesh & Visiting Fellow, Observer Research Foundation, New Delhi):

Connectivity Initiatives between India and Bangladesh

Dr. Nihar Ranjan Nayak (Research Fellow, IDSA): Re-linking the Landlocked Countries: India's Connectivity Initiatives and Options before Nepal and

Bhutan

DAY 2: Wednesday, 29 January 2020

10.00 AM-10.40 AM KEYNOTE ADDRESS

Chairperson: Ambassador Sujan R. Chinoy, Director General, IDSA

Keynote Address: Shri V. Muraleedharan, Hon'ble Minister of State for External Affairs,

Government of India

Vote of Thanks: Professor S.D. Muni, Member, Executive Council, IDSA

10.40 AM- 11.00 AM Tea/Coffee Break

11.00 AM- 01.00 PM SESSION IV: ENERGY COOPERATION

Chairperson: Professor Nitya Nanda (Director, Council for Social Development, New

Delhi)

Speakers: Mr. Dinesh Kumar Ghimire (Secretary (Energy), Ministry of Energy,

Water Resources and Irrigation, Government of Nepal):

Nepal-India Energy Cooperation

Dasho Sonam Tshering (Former Secretary, Ministry of Economic Affairs,

Bhutan): Bhutan-India Cooperation in the Hydropower Sector

Ms. Shebonti Ray Dadwal (Consultant, IDSA): Energy Cooperation between

India and Bangladesh

Shri Ajit Pai (OSD to Vice Chairman NITI Aayog, New Delhi): Strategic Synergies

in Financing Cross-Border Energy Projects

Dr. Bhupendra Kumar Singh (Director and Head, Energy Security, Confederation of Indian Industry, New Delhi): Enhancing Cross-Border Power

Trade in South Asia: Key Impediments and Policy Interventions

01.00 PM-02.00 PM Lunch

02.00 PM-04.00 PM SESSION V: DEFENCE AND SECURITY COOPERATION

Chairperson: Mr. Maroof Raza (Consultant & Strategic Affairs Expert, Times Now,

Mumbai)

Speakers: Admiral Ravindra C. Wijegunaratne (Retd.) (Former Chief of Defence Staff of

Sri Lankan Armed Forces): India-Sri Lanka Defence and Security Nexus:

Challenges and Opportunities

Brigadier General Ibrahim Mohamed Didi (Retd.) (Former Member of Parliament, the Maldives): *Durable India-Maldives Defense and Security*

Relations Fortify Indian Ocean Security Environment

Dr. Naing Swe Oo (Executive Director, Thayninga Institute for Strategic

Studies, Yangon): Myanmar as India's Important Neighbour: The Security

Perspectives

Shri Rajiv Jain (Former Director, Intelligence Bureau, Government of India): India's Policy with Regard to Cooperation in Counterterrorism in South Asia
Shri Jayant Misra (Former Director General, Directorate of Revenue Intelligence, Government of India & Consultant, UNODC): India's Cooperation with South Asian Countries in Curbing Drug Trafficking

04.00 PM-04.15 PM Tea

04.15 PM-05.30 PM SESSION VI: PANEL DISCUSSION-THE WAY FORWARD

Chairperson: Professor S.D. Muni (Professor Emeritus, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New

Delhi & Member, Executive Council, IDSA)

Speakers: Dr. Ashok Behuria (Senior Fellow, IDSA)

Dr. Shaida Mohammad Abdali Ambassador Munshi Faiz Ahmad

Dasho Sonam Tshering

Brigadier General Ibrahim Mohamed Didi (Retd.)

Mr. U. Khin Maung Lynn

Professor Bishwambher Pyakuryal

Admiral Ravindra C. Wijegunaratne (Retd.)

05.30 PM-05.35 PM Vote of Thanks

Ms. Sumita Kumar (Senior Research Associate, IDSA &

Conference Coordinator)